Congratulations to the communities of Ceduna, Cummins and Kimba who have been shortlisted to receive mental health funding.

Our Town‘ is a long-term mental health funding initiative, which will see the Fay Fuller Foundation provide funding and support to South Australian towns and regions for up to 10 years. The initiative seeks to fund and empower rural and regional communities to build new capabilities to meet the mental health challenges they face into the future.

The Fay Fuller Foundation and The Australian Centre for Social Innovation visited all nine towns and regions that were initially shortlisted for funding in late 2019 to learn more about their mental health challenges and bring their applications to life.

The six towns and regions that have been chosen to continue working with the Fay Fuller Foundation are Berri, Ceduna, Cummins, Kangaroo Island, Kimba and the Mid Murray region. During 2020 these communities will receive seed funding and support to develop long-term plans to build mental health capability.

The Fay Fuller Foundation initially planned to choose two communities from the six to each receive a decade of funding and support. However, given the recent catastrophic bushfire events in Kangaroo Island, it was decided that the program would be expanded from two funding and support packages to three and that the third would be provided straight to the Island community. The remaining five towns will have the opportunity to receive the original two 10-year packages of funding and support.

Check back in the coming weeks to read more about the chosen towns and regions.

For more information about the Fay Fuller Foundation